Baptist Historical Society: England and Wales
Become a member

News: Appointment of Vice Presidents

Posted on Wednesday, October 11, 2017

The Baptist Historical Society Committee has appointed four new Vice Presidents of the Society. Each has been honoured by the Society because of their long-time contributions to Baptist history and scholarship and to the work of the Society. The four appointed are:

Professor David W Bebbington MA PhD FRHistS FEcclesHS FRSE (Stirling)

 Professor John H Y Briggs MA FSA FRHistS (Bristol)

 Mrs Faith Bowers BA MPhil (London)

 The Revd Ian M Randall MA PhD FRHistS (Cambridge)

They join the current Vice Presidents, the Revd Dr Raymond Brown and the Revd Douglas Sparkes.

Professor Bebbington is a leading international Baptist scholar, a key figure in the Scottish Baptist history project, a noted author, a Professor at the University of Stirling and a distinguished visiting Professor at Baylor University, Waco, Texas.

Professor Briggs is a former President of the Society, Editor of the Baptist Quarterly, a noted author and General Editor of the Dictionary of European Baptist Life and Thought. He has served extensively on the Executive and Committees of the World Council of Churches representing the Baptist Union of Great Britain. He has worked with Regent’s Park College, Oxford and the International Baptist Theological Seminary in Prague, in addition to his work at Keele University and later the University of Birmingham.

Mrs Faith Bowers has served as Minute Secretary of the Society, sub-editor for the Society, represented British Baptists on the Baptist World Alliance and in conversations with the Church of England. She has author several books on Baptist life in London.  

The Revd Dr Ian M Randall has served in senior positions at Spurgeon’s College and the International Baptist Theological Seminary in Prague, edited the Baptist Quarterly and is a prolific author.